Assistant (to the) Editor-in-Chief

Hey, I’ll introduce myself as well.  I’m Sam Harbourt, and I’m excited to contribute to the blog along with my pal, Nick.

I’ve written an article for a past issue of the Global Analyst.  It was on the global food crisis, but I promise everything I write won’t be on corn subsidies….as much as I love to trash Iowans.

I will also be doing some editing work this year, I believe, though my official title will not be Assistant to the Editor-in-Chief.  Unless Nick likes it.

I too am a rising senior in the SFS at Georgetown.  My major is International Political Economy, and I focus on International Development.

Interestingly enough, I just returned for a semester abroad in Cape Town, South Africa.  While there, I had the opportunity to travel to–count ’em– eight different, including South Africa: Zimbabwe (yep), Zambia, Botswana, Malawi, Mozambique, Mauritius, and Swaziland.  Other than making my passport look really cool, this means that, more likely than not, I’ll be contributing a number of blogs on Southern Africa.  However, I am ashamed to say that after four months in the country preparing to host the World Cup, Nick knows more than me about FIFA. So if you’re here for sports analysis from a Cajun 21-year-old that likes economics, I apologize.    But I think Nick has that area covered.

Okay, let the blogging begin.

And by the way, I was kidding about writing about Mugabe for the Nobel.  I can’t even think of a satirical spin on that one.

Leave a Reply

